Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Navigation: 6. Use of BOMs > Working with BOM > Creating BOM based on the data in the document

Notes on editing the BOM attached to the document

Scroll

Items transferred to the BOM from an attached document

For items transferred to the BOM from an attached document editing will be severely limited.

Entry of arbitrary text is available only in the Note column — using the Add text to the beginning of a note... and Add text at the end of the note... commands from the context menu in the BOM item edit mode. Details...

In addition, it is possible to format the text of any cell, i.e. manual or automatic splitting it in lines, changing the narrowing of symbols, etc.

The formatting of the objects text should be performed in the BOM document, since it is not transferred from the linked document.

Editing text in other columns of an object, as well as connecting documents or geometry to an object, and filling in additional columns is not available in a BOM document. This can only be done in the document from which the BOM item was derived.

You can quickly open a document where a property value has been set that is displayed in a BOM cell using the Open the source of the property command from the context menu of the cell.

You can't delete an item transferred from the connected document from the BOM.

If the item should not be displayed in the BOM, then you need to change the source document of this item: cancel the inclusion of the item either in any BOMs (using the option Include into BOM in the properties of the corresponding component), or in the BOM of this style (using the Apply in current BOM description option in the object settings in the subordinate mode).

Objects created manually directly in the BOM

If an item is created in the BOM (and not transferred from an attached document), then this item can be edited in the usual way and can be deleted.

To quickly delete all manually created objects from all sections of the BOM, except the Documentation section, you can delete use the Edit — Delete User Objects command. User objects from the Documentation section can be deleted only using the Edit — Delete Object command.

Be careful when deleting objects: you can't undo any operations while working with a BOM.

BOM title block

If the specification retrieves properties from a connected document, i.e., during the process of Managing connected documents the button Get properties from document is pressed, the property values from that document are transferred to the main specification text. For more information: about linking a document to a BOM, about the BOM obtaining properties from a linked document.

When editing the main caption, the values of the modified properties lose their link to the source: the options in the Source column are disabled for them in the properties list. This means that the property values are no longer retrieved from the document and are not updated when they are changed in that document. If you need to restore the transfer of properties from the document, you should enable the options for the properties whose transfer was disabled.

© ASCON-Design systems, LLC (Russia), 2026. All rights reserved.